True Life: I’m a Clothes Horder

So…I accidentally went on a 2 week break from the blog. Sorry :-/ I’d say it’s because I got busy but it’s probably because I didn’t want to share that I gained 3 pounds and getting back on track has been more of a struggle than I had bargained. I have a hard time admitting when I’m struggling with something…

A and I had a fantastic time in Gettysburg.  We walked a lot and had some great food. I will admit that I didn’t try hard to track my food so I imagine that’s a good portion of my gain. I’m frustrated with myself but I’m moving forward

After Gettysburg I met with the Psychiatrist as part of the approval process. It seems to be going well (with the exception of the frigging gain) to date I’ve done my endoscopy (going in for another one on Thursday-woopie :-/) and my upper gi series, both tests discovered I have acid reflux…which was news to me! I’m now worried that D might say that gastric bypass is the only surgery I can have…and it doesn’t help that D is out until June because she had her baby…I now get to worry about this until she gets back!

Okay…I’ve been pretty negative so far in this post and I promised someone I would be positive about this next part.

Before I go into that I want to share something: I’m a clothes horder. In that I mean I will get dresses and shirts that I look at and think “when I lose weight I will fit in that” and never happened. Every year or 2 I would donate a stack of clothes because I can’t fit in it and I had given up on my weight loss.

But no more!

On Friday I took a day off (A was in normal 8-5 work mode and I just needed a day to run errands alone) to do my gi series (which was so much fun *sarcasm*) and I went up afterwards to do a weight check at D’s office. I was only .2 pounds down in 2 weeks!

I was so frusterated.

I went to Menlo park to walk around and one of the stores I stopped in was Lane Bryant-I love 90% of the clothes but hate the fact they are so pricey!

So I was in Lane Bryant (and it just so happened they were doing  40% of everything in the store!). While wandering around I happened upon this dress:

image

I pulled my typical size (a 28) and went to the dressing room and tried it on. AND IT WAS TOO BIG! I was shocked! So I grabbed a 26…and it was still big on me! I tried a 24 and it fit…a little tight bit it looked damn good on me 🙂

It took a bit of convincing (thanks to A and my friend J) but I bought it. I’m glad I did, this is huge for me, while the dress is still a little tight (and so not safe to wear on these windy spring days) it’s still 2 FRIGGING sizes down!

Then yesterday while I was getting ready for a weekend work thing, I tried a dress on that my Mom had gotten me for Christmas. She said if it didnt fit I could exchange it but I didnt want to…that clothes hording mentality there. It’s an old navy shirt dress made from a material that is not very forgiving even with Old Navy’s generous sizing (3× can run from 24-26 depending on the garmet). As I slipped it on over my head I marveled at how easy it was to put it on this time and then it was on…AND IT FIT.

Maybe soon my hips and belly will get the message and shrink too…but I will take that 2 dress size loss and run with it.

Leave a comment